top of page
No tags yet.

Doing the London thing 3

Day three, Tate Britain and Tate Modern are on todays itinerary, I have been looking forward to today as the Tate Britain is host to Don McCullin exhibition of photojournalistic images that date from just before my birth, most of them are from events of the dramatic times during my childhood and the brutality of conflict. Don McCullin in a documentary appears to be a modest man, who grew up in London and because of the sights he has witnessed bears a heavy burden that he lightens by taking landscape photography in the countryside and coasts around the United Kingdom.

YouTube video Don McCullin – 'I Hate Being Known as a War Photographer' | TateShots

I truly enjoyed this exhibition simply titled "Don McCullin" it effectively walks you through a timeline of his work, with some brutal visions along side landscapes and still life, the compassion for the subject made me feel quite sad that as humans we can treat other humans with such cruelty. A quote on his website he states.

And from the exhibition wall.

I think this partly sums up why Don McCullin and his passion for the plight of people the humanitarian in him through and through. His work is seen as a language throughout the world to communicate the importance of being better humans, be kind, talk not fight, others less fortunate need to be helped and not ignored.

The mastery of his equipment is merely a tool with which to impart this communication with much skill and compassion.

I thoroughly loved the exhibition as it connected with my childhood and the news of those years.

It is also a shame that the cost for this work Don has paid by way of P.T.S.D and a darkness that may never fade.

Don McCullin does all his own prints, so at every stage from composition to printed photograph it is all in his hands. Don chooses to make his develop his landscape photography as dark as he can get them, possibly symbolic of the darkness that is within him, going every where that he does - his constant companion.

When you see personal items such as a combat hard hat, passes, visas and a destroyed camera you begin to gain gravity on what was at stake to bring images, however harrowing to the mainstream international news.

I could not only blog about Don McCullin for the work images, as he states he is a "photographer" who does not want to be only known for images of war. He is an accomplished photographer of the highest calibre and more emphasis should rightly be given to his landscapes from all around the United Kingdom and of Yorkshire or his favourite Bradford. Where knowledge of the tonal quality of monochromatic film processing and choice of paper are essential for truly breathtaking visualisations of Northern life and working towns.

There is a quietness, calm that oozes from these photographs of a longing for tranquility, landscapes to be immersed in. As I look through my signed book that accompanies the exhibition, the aroma of fresh print newness, a realisation of how delighted and privileged I am, to not only be able to visit exhibitions in London, but to be able to own some of the beautiful books too.

On page 148 there is a passage that encapsulates all my thoughts, to quote from the book:

"My solace lies in recording what remains of the beautiful landscape of Somerset and it's metallic dark skies, which give this county an aged and sometimes remote feeling as if the past is struggling against the future. The stillness of silence and sometimes my loneliness provoke my imagination, but, like the surrounding land, I am fighting to release the past in me."

Don McCullin from Open Skies, New York 1989 p.211

 

The afternoon brought a visit to Tate Modern, having visited the Modern, recently with family, I purposely omitted Jenny Holzer at the time, now was the time to see what was on show. Jenny Holzer to me is a bit of a like it or hate it type of art. Very up for making a statement about the current social situations and the rights of humans.

Jenny Holzer is an American artist whose work uses the written word to evoke response, conversation and greater understanding of how certain issues can affect us indirectly, often without realising it. "Men don't protect you anymore" printed on condom packs is about women taking the initiative to protect themselves against STD such as Chlamydia, Herpes, Gonorrhea, Syphilis, Genital Warts, and H.I.V empowering women to say "Not without a condom".

I think we are more than aware that the first thing the public at large are aware of being called to war, is when it is too late to protest or prevent it, "The beginning of war will be secret" is exactly about what we are not told in the news, by the time we are informed it is too late. I also suppose Jennys work allows room for ones own opinion. This is not really my type of thing to be really excited or inspired by, however Jenny does make valid statements with her work.

This concluded the last full day in London and our last night at the Royal National Hotel, it is an odd feeling thinking next year I will not be at University when the plan is to go to Berlin.

My next adventure takes me back to London.... stay tuned.

Join our mailing list

© 2017 by A&PTM Bike Photo. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page