top of page
No tags yet.

Engaging with journeys

Learning to have intention in creating is only part of the learning. There are much more basic things to learn too, composition, camera control, colour management. I suppose you could consider me fortunate to have an in built idea of composition. Without knowing what creates tension, vague knowledge of leading lines, and golden ratios I must admit 3 years ago it was mostly well over my head.

I enjoy creating, although I would be the first to admit that I am no artist, of a painterly style, this is more than likely having little confidence in someone who would like my style of painterly creation. I love the observation required to see the potential in an overexposed, solar flared image, and having the confidence to edit and see the beauty. Take these images for example:

I think there is something about the image on the left that would make most people cast it aside, but once edited a transformation takes place, that reveals an essence of me being in that place, at that moment travelling at speed through an ever changing landscape.

Using Canon equipment, after having my first DSLR (Digital Single-Lens Reflex) in 2014 as a birthday gift, my photography has grown (as well as my camera and lens collection) in the artistic qualities and camera control that I have taken onboard, during my journey through Higher National Diploma/BA Fine Art Top-up courses, although there is always more to learn and develop as a photographer and as a person, I would say the journey is never truly over.

Evan Wood, my tutor and a skilled photographer in his own right, I will imagine, will have had many headaches over trying get me through this really demanding final year, and the development in my work is evident, although not yet second nature. I struggle with the literal too much, fighting the approach to trust 100% in my instinct for an emotional connection to the image in my view finder and what intention is conveyed.

When I feel in a dark mood (depression) I find my images are dark, moody, and brooding. In happy states of mind I engage more with my environment, in a zen like feeling part of or within the landscape, being immersed in the sounds and mood of the landscape that I am within and the photography I produce is inclined to reflect this "engagement".

Alongside my love of all things of the natural environment, I fell in love with the look and sound of racing motorbikes when I was a teenager. On occasion Grandstand on Saturday would show coverage from motorbike racing events, usually the domestic series British Super Bikes, TT (Tourist Trophy) from Isle of Man, and 24 hours Le Mans Endurance. I was not a compulsive watcher of these events, but it did feed the attraction to the sport as a whole, including the profound sadness of the tragedies that are part of their involvement as competitors, as with many other sports, risk of life changing injury and fatality are an accepted cost to their passion and ability to compete in these sports.

My first trip to a motorbike event was in March 2014 to the Thundersport GB season opener at Brands Hatch, something I never anticipated doing in my life, the excitement even at club level racing, I cannot really describe in words, (I will try) it is an experience of the senses revving engines as they warm up, aromas of fuel, oil, rubber, and bacon (there must be bacon!), the colours of bikes, leathers, and crash-helmets covered in vibrant graphical shapes, all adds to the almost tangible anticipation of these adrenaline charged racers with age groups ranging from 11 to some in their 50's.

IT'S A FAMILY AFFAIR

I soon realised that these events are attended by dedicated families, who will help a fellow competitor with spares if they're needed, they share concern for fellow competitors and this is a whole community of a #Bikeracingfamily, something you feel integral to because you attend, photograph, and become friends with the wonderful people on their "journey" in motorbike racing life. This was when I wanted to create A&P Bike Photo to enable our photography to be available for websites, prints, and other memorabilia.

Rory Skinner, Cadwell TSGB 2014, Trophy Haul
Superteens 2014 Joey Thompson, Rory Skinner,

Thundersport GB Superteens parc ferme 2014

These are now successful racers Joey Thompson preferring the challenge of road circuits and Rory Skinner ,who has remained with circuit racing, has raced almost all round the world when he qualified for the premier series for his age group Red Bull Rookies for 3 seasons. I have since learned that Joey Thompson, after showing much promise at 20 years old has not got a ride for 2019, consequently may have retired from racing.

Through my course I have developed an identity for my personal photography. These images are usually metaphor, taken with an intent to communicate beyond the visual. Please enjoy the slide show of Photographic Artistry.

Join our mailing list

© 2017 by A&PTM Bike Photo. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page