top of page
No tags yet.

#InSearchOfDragons: The solo adventure.


I got a little adventurous this time! Four changes, the first leg being fairly straightforward, change at Sheffield for Birmingham New Street, the next change however I got a little confused to the point of being stood next to the train I was to catch, not wanting to board the wrong train. My ticket said Pwhelli, the train said Aberystwyth - confused somewhat. I asked a guard who was, in all fairness, (being bombarded with questions of a similar nature), I produced my e-ticket is this the train I need please? "next one", "Oh ok, still confused and feeling conflicted with should I/shouldn't I, I waited. Next train was a London one! Oh nooo! I slight flutter of the OMG, OMG, OMG - * says to self to calm down - be rational- find another guard* I soon found out: Yes!, dayuum that was my train, there is another at 14:25, you want the front two coaches.

Lesson learned, nothing to panic about, there is another train and it will not cost anymore £, tickets are still valid. Time for a hot chocolate drink, relax my almost panic state and a sandwich for lunch. Whilst I sat in the waiting area I continued to try and hone in to the "act of the journey" what my photography ought to capture of my adventure. I noticed many people on their travels, some commuting, others on pleasure, and a few either coming home or going on holidays with heavily laden suitcases accompanied by other smaller carry on sizes, two young quite tall gentlemen with sporting type holdalls exchanged some lightweight lycra clothing and other items in bags and said:

Man 1: "Are you going to Lillehammer?"

Man 2: "Yes!"

Man 1: "See you there, then"

Both men: "Bye"

My thoughts went to skiing and winter sports... (I wonder if they will read this?) Participants or viewers? Perhaps, I will never know.

Everyone on their own journeys

I went down to the platform and began the very long third leg of the journey to the lovely little self catering Beudy Bach Llanbedr. I chose this location for the scenic train ride, the remoteness, and I have never been here before.

What other reason does one need to go adventuring....

Beudy Bach, stone cottage that translates to "Cow Shed" a lovely eco-friendly barn conversion.

I noticed on the train how many ignore all that is around them, some doing work others studies, the possibility is they travel this route frequently and are bored of it, work is too demanding and things must be done on the move. I turned my attention to the immersion in this adventure, eyes alert for a possible photographic opportunity, as the train went through rolling green scenic countryside station by station becoming more remote, less urban sprawl, rubbish, clutter, and planned human jungle to more quiet, calm, random, and less constructed. I found myself relaxing to the familiar openness, visibility, greens, browns, and greys with refreshing splashes of yellow from the in-flower Gorse that sporadically transformed the gloomy daylight, as the gloaming took over, sheep scattered as the train clattered by, fields muddy from recent rain, brooks and rivers close to bank top, flooding imminent.

Wednesday morning I was greeted with wonderful earfulls of birdsong, the hour did not matter, it was daylight, still raining, and a kettle needed to be brought to action. As I had walked the lane to the local village, Llanbedr the evening before, for food and travelled the lane up from Pen-sarn Station by car, closest to Beudy Bach, there was one direction to go - upwards!

After, a few mugs of tea & toasted Bara Brith slices for breakfast and fingers crossed hoping there would be a break in the seemingly never-ending rain, it finally let up, now was the time to go. I had my rucksack with a bin liner, so the camera could be wrapped up, when later undoubtedly the clouds would re-open.


Onwards!


On my unknown meander, I could feel the overwhelming draw of this rugged landscape. I could hear water, I like being near flowing water, clean, cold, fresh, gurgling, rushing to merge with others. Random, abstract shapes, mesmerising as the fluid dances over obstacles on the route to the open sea. Camera out, this love for the natural environment, mostly unspoiled by human intervention warrants capture within an image or several. Trees covered in Lichen, Moss dripping from the recent rain with a gentle pitter patter, amongst birdsong, creaking branches. I could have simply sat there becoming more and more absorbed to the point nothing else was relevant.


I continued walking upwards as the rain started, camera into the safety of the bin liner. The trees that had been either side of me, forming a tunnel or archway became further apart, un-broken daylight, although still grey and gloomy there is beauty to it, as clouds sped by, pushed with the wind from the West, I was walking almost East. Rain at my back, soaked yet warm and cheerfully happy to be amongst the fresh air and open space. As I crested the hill (out of breath, but pleased to be there) I saw a junction Left, straight or Right, being by now quite soggy, I consulted Google Maps that informed me that the apparent farm track to my Right was a good choice. The rain broke again, I found dry tissue and wiped my glasses. I spotted a farmer and confirmed that the track was a right of way, so glad I did not do an about turn as the path was filled with stunning views. I went over the rise as the farmer had guided me, a vista of the Snowdon National Park filled my gaze, oh how blessed I felt, out with the camera to seize this moment... what wonderful memory to take with me with a pang of guilt for not being with my partner as this was something we should have shared - I knew then I would return to Beudy Bach.

My second day was one of drying clothes and editing photographs taken on the travel to Beudy Bach and from the walk the day before, also I needed to speed a lot of the time with my heat pad on my aching back and hip from the walk, I may not have found Dragons but I think I found a sheep!

I enjoyed being able to hear and see the birds all set for Spring, territory battles, pairing up, and a view not of stone walls in each direction, but trees, fields, and life. A feeling of freedom, I do not feel at home, encased by all that is manmade and surrounded by many strangers from all lands.

Later in the afternoon the rain dried up, blue sky broke through the fluffy white and grey foreground I decided to see what the lane to the village looked like in daylight.

Viewing into Snowdonia National Park from Llanbedr

The mood is pretty similar to the previous day, but what magnificent, forbidding, beauty, and rugged backdrop. The low cloud teasingly covering and uncovering the features of the distant hillside. I am looking forward to new adventures here.

Ty Mawr, Llanbedr is the local hotel/restaurant, the other was undergoing refurbishment, so it was closed, the village taxi company was on holiday. In all fairness a good time to visit as the holiday makers, that these villages thrive on had not started arriving. The food again was filling and welcomed to prepare me for the homeward travel the following day. I walked back under a dry, star filled sky after a few enjoyable pints of cider. In awe of the stars, I made my way back for the last time is visit, quite saddened by the thoughts of returning to the urban, post industrial landscape of smoke sooted stone buildings aside the few remaining cobbled, narrow streets remnants of prosperous times, now left long ago in the history of Barnsley.


The homeward journey was a melancholy one, not that I did not want to see my partner or be amongst my own things, more one of my adventure was soon to be over! I felt so at home, re-connected with the inner me, relaxed and peaceful. I waited at the station with Tim, the owner of Beudy Bach, who began talking to a couple in the first of their two week, twice yearly visit to the area, from of all places Knottingley, Pontefract and they were going to have a day exploring Barmouth.

I took some photographs during the travel home, I stopped after a while when I sensed the cloud cover me, I lost interest, the passion left, the adventure ended and the urban jungle had been reached, with a different kind of dreary, monotonous, uninspiring, greyness.























Join our mailing list

© 2017 by A&PTM Bike Photo. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page